Access Saint Boniface: 2016 Access Award Recepient

MMP is proud to announce that the recently completed, Access Saint Boniface, was the recipient of a 2016 Award of Excellence in Accessible Architectural Design. With over 30 nominations, and a rigorous touring process, winning one of these five awards is a great honour.

The Access Awards raise awareness of the importance of accessibility and universal design throughout the City of Winnipeg. These annual awards honour projects that make life more equitable, safe, comfortable, and affordable for everyone, including people with disabilities. In addition, the awards allow for further education, discussion, and outreach around progress in universal design.

An awards ceremony was held last week in the third floor multi-purpose room of the new Access Centre. Members of the community, staff from the various health and community organizations housed within the Access Centre, as well as Winnipeg Regional Health representatives gathered to celebrate the achievement. Councilor Ross Eadie and representatives from the City of Winnipeg Access Advisory Committee presented the award to MMP Architects and the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority.

Thank you to all members of the Access Saint Boniface team who made this project a success. Please find some photos of the event above and additional photos of the Access Saint Boniface project linked in the tag below.

Award photo above (L-R)
Ken Kollinger (WRHA), Monique Constant (Centre de Sante), Susant Stratford (Centre de Sante), Leslie Badger (WRHA), Hailey Connor (MMP), Ross Eadie (City Councilor and Access Award Committee), Chris Daly (MMP), Real Cloutier (WRHA).

Access Saint Boniface Project Team
Project Architect: Chris Daly
Intern Architect and Contract Administration: Kristin Szuminsky
Lead Interior Designer: Hailey Connor
Senior Technician: Neil Laurel